The U.S. Supreme Court

The Supreme Court of the United States in Washington, D.C. is the highest court in the nation.  It is also the only federal court named specifically in the Constitution, which states that, “The judicial power of the United States shall be vested in one Supreme Court.” Beyond that, however, the Constitution tells us little about the make-up or organization of the court; it gives no qualifications for holding seats on the court, and doesn’t establish how many justices will be on the court. The Judiciary Act of 1789 set the size of the court at six; one Chief Justice and five Associate Justices.    Over time, the court grew to as large as ten Justices.  With the Judiciary Act of 1869, Congress decreased the number to nine, a number which has remained constant to this day.